Top Cropping Yeast Collection

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BradleyBrew

Reaction score
Has anyone attempted to collect and store yeast at high krausen? I posted in the general beer forum but got no responses. Apparently if you are NOT a complete newb and actually have question other then about no airlock activity or some other is my beer ruined query nobody cares lol... not bitter though!

I'm looking for some general techniques about doing so and storing for about 1week. How much krausen? How much sterilized water, etc. Thanks!!

:mug:

You should pick up a copy of Jamil and Chis White's Yeast book. He describes a couple of methods of top cropping. I remember reading that with top cropping you're harvesting the healthiest of the yeast. One method he talks about is just using a sanitized spoon, another method involves some CO2 and vacuuming the yeast out.

http://www.amazon.com/Yeast-Practical-Fermentation-Brewing-Elements/dp/0937381969

Last edited by a moderator:
Yup. Here's what I do:

1) Ferment in a bucket for easy access
2) Use a santized spoon to skim off the initial dirty krausen (after 24-48 hours depending on your yeast and temp). Discard.
3) About 24 hours after the first skim, skim again with a sanitized spoon, but this time put the yeast in a sanitized jar with some boiled and cooled water (use bottled if your tap water is chlorinated) in it. Try to get nothing but clean yeast when you skim (no wort, not left over scum). I collect about 1/4 - 1/2 cup of yeast and put it in a pint size mason jar with about cup of water in it.