Is Cider the fastest fermenting beverage there is?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NeverDie

Reaction score
I'm new to fermentation, and I just recently started fermenting a number of different juices in parallel: Martinelli's apple juice, grape juice, cherry juice, pomegranate juice, and peach juice. I started them all at the same brix level, and am using the same Premier Cuvee yeast in all of them. What's noteable is that the bubbler on the Martinelli's has been going probably 2x the speed of the next fastest (grape) for the same volume of liquid. Is there something about apple juice (its Ph or maybe some thing else) that makes it far more favorable to rapid fermentation than the other juices?

Cider ferments out much slower than beer, if you do it right. I can knock out an English ale in 36 hours with Windsor ale yeast. Ciders, on the other hand, take months.

Uh, ok, I'm plainly doing it totally wrong then. What early-stage fermentation temperature do you recommend?

The only cider I had take a long time was an unpasteurized spontaneous ferment, and that was still done with active fermentation in a couple weeks, just took a few months to work out sulphur and (I assume) go through MLF (cider not my bag so not as knowledgeable).

The handful of controlled ciders (juice or pasteurized cider and pure strain yeast) haven't been appreciably longer than a normal beer ferment. A weekish, maybe 2.

The handful of controlled ciders (juice or pasteurized cider and pure strain yeast) haven't been appreciably longer than a normal beer ferment. A weekish, maybe 2.

What a relief! That's the kind of time frame I'm interested in. A week or two then done.

OK, so when is it done then?
Simple answer - whenever ya want it to be [emoji111]