Gelatin?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jpappilli

Reaction score
Hey guys. I am new to adding Gelatin to the beer. What is this for? and what would happen if an idiot like myself didn't read the directions on the gelatin packet and just added it and stirred? The packet says boil in water to dissolve and add when hot then stir vigorously. I just added and stirred. Did I mess up?

Adding Gelatin to beer helps it clear quicker. However I have never used it since I let my beer clear naturally by leaving it alone and letting it sit.

I am not sure if it will clear as effectively since you did not dissolve it in warm water first. But I am fairly certain you did not hurt your beer.

I just started using gelatin, my last IPA was so cloudy I just didn't feel like sharing any of it. It tasted fine, it just looked like a Blue Moon. Since this was a Two Heart clone I was a little disappointed. I had another pale coming and couldn't stand the thought it would turn out as cloudy as the last one, so I gave it the gelatin treatment. I bottled it today. WOW, THIS GELATIN IS GREAT STUFF! The beer is clear, but still has a few particles suspended so I'm confident it will carbonate well, this will be my clearest pale ale yet. I've also been having issues with a chill haze, can't wait to see how this one turns out. Planning to make the Two Heart again and use gelatin to compare the results.