Steeping and First Wort Hopping for BIAB

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

edb23

Reaction score
forgive me if this is a silly question...

I'm new to All grain brewing and plan on trying my first one with the BIAB method sometime in the next week or two. Now, I know that typically specialty grains like crystal malts are simply mixed in with the rest of the grist and mashed with everything else, but is there any benefit or a different result if specialty grains are steeped in the wort as opposed to being mashed with everything else?

also, how can i pull of first wort hopping with BIAB?

i did a few BIABs .. i just put all the grain and even some flaked stuff right in the bag .. i cant see that there would be a benefit to doing it in steps .. it's all just going to end up together anyway ... for first wort, Id just put the hops in right after I pulled and drained the bag ... BIAB was so simple .. i did go ahead and make a mash tun from a cooler, but after 4 brewdays with it, Im already thinking about just going back to the bag to save some clean up and time .. my effficiency is a little better with the tun but grain is cheap .. and my time these days isn't ... cheers !!

im not sure why you'd want to add an extra step of steeping the specialty grains separately. some only add dark grains at the sparge to limit the roast/color, but I dunno why else you'd want to as there'd be no benefit to it.

FWH is done same as normal AG, just add it to the first runnings, i.e. when you pull the bag out.

I was just wondering if steeping it seperately might impart a little more intensity from the grains, but makes my job easier if that's not the case.

And thanks for the advice on the FWH