Pumpkin Cider Recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TexasWine

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
UPDATE: I finally got around to brewing this cider this past weekend. Below I've updated the recipe and documented my final process. The final outcome is still TBD, but I’m pretty optimistic.

All right folks. This is my first attempt at a recipe simply because I didn’t find one that I felt suited my needs. I’m going for a quick pumpkin cider. And by quick I mean something that will be ready to drink almost immediately after fermentation, not necessarily quick to slap together.

PUMPKIN CIDER
Ingredients:
1 small pie pumpkin
5 gallons Apple Juice (no preservatives)
2 cans frozen apple juice concentrate (FAJC)
1 lb amber DME
1 lb light DME
1 lb Crystal 60L
½ Tbsp. whole allspice
½ tsp ground cloves
1 tsp ground nutmeg
4 cinnamon sticks
2 Tbsp vanilla extract
Yeast (Nottingham)
Yeast Nutrient (per instructions on package)
Potassium Metabisulphite
Potassium Sorbate (if back sweetening)
1 gallon water

Instructions:
1. Place grains (60L) in a muslin bag and steep in 3/4 gallon of water at 155°F for 30 minutes. (note 1)
2. Sparge grains with an additional 1/4 gallon water at 170°F and dispose of grains. (note 2)
3. While grains are steeping chop pumpkin into 1” cubes. Place pumpkin into a mesh bag(s). (note 3)
4. Add DME and mesh bag(s) of pumpkin to the steeping/sparging water and bring to a boil. Boil for 30 minutes.
5. Add spices and cinnamon to boiling water for last 15 minutes of boil. (note 4)
6. Remove wort from heat, remove pumpkin and cinnamon sticks, and chill wort to a maximum of room temperature.