best yeast for high temp fermentation?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

corrales_305

Reaction score
so this is my first time brewing and i chose a american amber ale because ales are easier to brew ive heard. anyway i live in miami and the temp is always pretty hot even in the winter. so its 78 degree at night right now and it gets hotter during the day. i wanted to know which yeast is recommended for higher temps. im still going to have my fermenter inside my house where is usually anywhere from 75-78 degees i would lower the a/c more but my wife is alway frick'in cold.....i cant understand it she is from chicago and we are in miami and she is still alway cold!!!!! i know getting a fermentor fridge is a good option but i dont have the cash right now ....also i have a fridge outside my house but i guess i would need one of those temp controller things if i was going to use it as a fermenting fridge. do i need a temp controller if i use it or can i just raise the temp to max and use it? i think there would be alot of temp fluctuation, but in not sure. what do you think? if i cant use it what yeast should i use at 75-78 degree range. for this batch i started im using safale 05 i hope it works well with the temps!!!
dreamstime_14463648.jpgthis is what my wife does all day ...RAISE THE TEMP!!!

That is too warm for US-05.

If that is the only temp you can ferment at, either look at a swamp cooler or embrace the heat and brew something like saisons, which like the heat.

Look at the Wyeast owr White Labs websites and they will list the recommended temp range for each yeast. Just remember during peak fermentation the temp of the wort will be 5-8 degrees higher than the ambient temp.