Some questions about using 100% Aromatic malt

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eon

Reaction score
Hello.

I am trying to come up with a recipe using 100% Aromatic malts. I have a couple of questions.

1.) I want this to be about 73 IBUs. Not sure if I'm there because Beer Calculus in the worst brewing software in the world and NEVER accurate! :D

2.) I have never used aromatic malts before. Not sure what kind to buy but on rebelbrewer.com they have about 3 different kinds. Any idea which aromatic I should go with? OR maybe I can mix a couple different kinds?

3.) Beer calculus says this is @ 25* SRM. Is that really dark? I'm aiming for a reddish copper color I suppose. Three Floyds did a beer with 100% aromatic and it looked and tasted wonderful. That is the inspiration for this beer.

http://www.ratebeer.com/beer/three-floyds-aotearoa/132814/

Here's my recipe thus far:

OG 1.065
FG 1.016

25* SRM

59.7 IBU

6.5% ABV

12 lbs. Aromatic malt

1.00 oz. Nelson Sauvin @ 60 minutes
0.50 oz. Amarillo @ 60 minutes
0.50 oz. Nelson Sauvin @ 15 minutes
0.50 oz. Amarillo @ 15 minutes
0.50 oz. Nelson Sauvin @ 10 minutes
0.50 oz. Amarillo @ 10 minutes
0.50 oz. Nelson Sauvin @ 5 minutes
0.50 oz. Amarillo @ 5 minutes
1.00 oz Nelson Sauvin @ flame out
1.00 oz. Amarillo @ flame out
1.00 oz. Nelson Sauvin (DRY HOP)
1.00 oz. Amarillo (DRY HOP)

1 tsp. Irish Moss @ 15 minutes
geltain finings (when do you put these in?)
Cold crash (Have no idea how to do this!)

Safale us-05 yeast (Not sure what yeast would do well with this but everyone seems to love 05).

Pucker city if you ask me....

Even from the brew wiki.

General brewing information