What thermometer should I buy?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Octang

Reaction score
Hey guys -

I just started brewing recently and I need to buy a thermometer so I know the temperature of my brew before I pitch my yeast and I also need to use that thermometer to measure the tempurature of my water bath that my fermenter sits in so I can ensure my brew is fermenting in the proper range.

I am the type of guy who is willing to pay for quality now, just so I don't need to upgrade to replace it later. So right now I am just starting out and using beer kits, but I fully intend to go into all grain brewery later. So if there is a certain type of thermometer I should get (or one with certain features) I would be happy pay a little extra to get it now vs just buying something cheaper that may fit my needs for the moment but needing to replace it down the road.

So what would your recommend I do? Just buy a cheap $8 floating thermometer or is there something better that will come in handy for me down the road.

I am the type of guy who is willing to pay for quality now, just so I don't need to upgrade to replace it later. So right now I am just starting out and using beer kits, but I fully intend to go into all grain brewery later. So if there is a certain type of thermometer I should get (or one with certain features) I would be happy pay a little extra to get it now vs just buying something cheaper that may fit my needs for the moment but needing to replace it down the road.

For the last thermometer you will ever need I highly recommend a Super-Fast Thermapen!. You can buy the standard version on sale for $74.00 or buy the New Splash-Proof Version for $96.00. You will never need to buy another one.

Yuri, I guess you type a bit faster than I.:D