Where all the ladies at?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marcycaulkins

Reaction score
Just to prove that there are more than 3 female brewers in the world, I'd like to give a shout out to all the ladies out there...

Oh, I know there are a lot here, that's why I'm hoping they speak up to prove to the fellas that we exist.

Hi Teri! I started brewing 5 or so years ago when I wandered into a small local grocer and homebrew shop, and thought "wow, I always wanted to try making beer". Eventually, I went back, bought an equipment kit and an ingredient kit and never looked back. I brewed exactly 2 batches from kits, then started "following" recipes (they're really just guidelines, right?) or making up my own. I took a 4 year hiatus when I was pregnant and after my daughter was born until I managed to find time to squeeze brewing back into my life. My husband enjoys drinking my beer, but otherwise stays out of my way (apparently, I turn into an ******* when I'm brewing) unless I enlist his help to move my brew kettle or bottle.

Besides the quite a few on here, I know a few in real life, a couple who are even BJCP judges.

Plus there's this thread... Women Who Brew.

We even have a mod who is one.....;)

In that thread they mentioned "Women of HBT Calendar"....now that's an idea! Haha! :)

My husband enjoys drinking my beer, but otherwise stays out of my way (apparently, I turn into an ******* when I'm brewing) unless I enlist his help to move my brew kettle or bottle.

Hahaha! My husband strongly dislikes beer, but his friends enjoy drinking "Teri's beer." He has learned to stay out of my way, too. Although he is quick to jump up and move/lift the heavy stuff when asked. I started some mead for him last month.