What will a lot more DME do to my recipe?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TexasStu

Reaction score
I am working on doing a hybrid extract recipe.
My issue is I misread the DCM and over-ordered, compounded by including all the grain in the order (packaged as one) so impossible to separate.
Instead of 0.125 lbs. DCM (I chose Crystal 90L) I ordered 1.25 lbs (10 times what the recipe calls for). The recipe, "Cascading Coopers pale Ale" (submitted by Brewtopia Homebrew Supplies) is listed HERE

Ok, enough background. HERE is my question...
I am new to brewing so I have no idea what adding an extra 18oz of DCM to this recipe will do to it. I could guess all day but not be any closer to an answer so I would try to prove my worth by stating I think it would make the taste fuller, the batch darker and increase mouth-feel.

I'd love replies from the veterans as to all that you believe would enhance/detract from this recipe!

Please tell me what more malt-balanced means?

I can always order some more hops.
I'm not concerned too much with the added ABV.
More concerned with the sweetness and the taste/mouth-feel/aftertastes

hop bitterness balances malt sweetness. if you want to increase the alcohol using DME, it will in turn increase the sweetness. to keep the same balanced, you will have to increase the hops as well.

different beers have different balances. american APAs and IPAs are generally much more balanced towards bitterness and hops, whereas scottish ales, many british and german beers, etc. are much more malt-balanced so they are sweeter and use less hops.