What next? Progression in cider homebrewing.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VasDeferensly

Reaction score
So I've been messing around with cider brewing for a few years now, I started how a lot of people did, with a gallon glass jug, some champagne yeast, and an airlock. Now I make about 5 gallons every few months with store bought juice, and I just picked up a 3 gallon keg and some CO2 so I can start serving. My technique is pretty solid, and I can get a consistent product, the glaring exception being stove-top pasteurizing, of which I have yet to do successfully, and have minor PTSD from exploding 22s.

So for you guys who have been doing this a long time, what next? How did you guys move forward and produce better cider? The way it seems now, the next step is investing in better juice to start with, which sucks as I'm on a budget, and some temp control. There seems to be a void between $4-5/gallon and $10/gallon juice, and even then, it's not pressed for fermenting. Luckily this fall, I should be able to get a bunch of fruit cheap or free by urban foraging in Portland, so that's a good start, and I'm going to be looking into local orchards doing pressings.

I realize this is a bit of a ramble, but I can make a pretty decent drink, and I'd like to graduate to making something pretty good. So for you guys with experience, tell me how you progressed.

Next step is cold crashing at a certain FG and carbing at the same time. Get some plastic 1 gallon jugs - like Mott's, etc. and when the juice hits just above the FG you like, cold crash and store it.

You'll get carbonated, sweet (off dry, up to fully sweet - your choice), draft style cider.