What am I doing Wrong? Why is it all foam?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Moderator's Note:
For those already familiar with this thread, the OP has added more info on the foaming problem, plus an image of his dispensing system in post #9:
https://www.homebrewtalk.com/threads/what-am-i-doing-wrong-why-is-it-all-foam.726815/post-10254369

Hey all, complete beginner here. I'm experimenting with doing a Iced Oolong+hops non-alcoholic combo. So, I'm hot steeping my oolong tea, bringing it down to about 36-38, than throwing in hop pellets and leaving to steep overnight at 38. I'm then transferring the whole mixture into a 1 gallon mini keg system (linked below), and force carbonating to 25psi.
https://www.northernbrewer.com/products/complete-one-gallon-mini-keg-system
I really like the flavor of what's coming out, but the problem is that it's usually almost all foam, and I'm having a hard time keeping the mixture carbonated. I later learned about balancing my line, so I changed the line in the keg to 9ft of 3/16" ID, but my resultant mixture is still really foamy and not carbonated enough. Am I carbonating at too high of a PSI? Or should i lengthen my line more?

Thanks so much in advance!

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome to the forums at HomeBrewTalk :mug:

9 feet of 3/16" ID beer line would be perfect for up to 10-11 psi of CO2 pressure, but you're way over that.
So try one foot of your 3/16" line for each PSI of CO2 pressure you're using on the keg.
Or use this calculator to find the optimum line length...

http://www.mikesoltys.com/2012/09/17/determining-proper-hose-length-for-your-kegerator/
Cheers!
Super helpful, thank you!