What a gas!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AntX

Reaction score
Hey folks,

Put simply, I'm new to propane (although I know how to use a BBQ).

I just bought a 66K BTU burner from HomeHardware.

Any advice from fellow homebrewers? Should I be getting a fire extinguisher just in case?

Also, "be cooking on gas"* stories much welcome! :fro:

*(see the pun here? har har)*

You should always have a fire extinguisher in your brewing area.
Make sure your connections are tight and never leave it unattended. I don't
have any stories but I think you'll get a few here.

Thanks for the tip!

Also, I should probably add that I'll be using the BiaB method... I suppose I should also be using some kind of basket or false bottom, in order not to burn/melt my bag.

Oh! And I'll be brewing outdoors (obv.), but it gets quite chilly here (Minus 20F is not unusual in the winter). How should I isolate the boiler?

Peace!

I use a heat shield on my boiler made from sheet metal
I use steel wire with stainless nuts attatched around the boiler to let the heat flow and the metal sheet outside to keep the heat in

I guess you can use high temp insulation on the outside if your cooking in the winter storms(havnt tryed it below -20C)

I use a heat shield on my boiler made from sheet metal
I use steel wire with stainless nuts attatched around the boiler to let the heat flow and the metal sheet outside to keep the heat in

I guess you can use high temp insulation on the outside if your cooking in the winter storms(havnt tryed it below -20C)

That's some very good advice, thank you so much.

I'll try to find insulated sheets of metal.

I think you will have a hard time finding a insulated sheet
Maybe a friendly plummer will let you scavenge the capsuling from an old water heater