Water Volume Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ScottWa

Reaction score
So I am still trying to figure out appropriate volumes of water for my system for the different beers I've made and am going to make. I am still relatively new to all gran brewing so bare with me.

Equipment: 15.5 gallon keg for brewpot
10 Gallon Rubbermaid Insulated cooler for mash tun
5 gallon stainless steel brewpot for hot liquor tank

I will be brewing a brown ale tomorrow with 10lbs of grains and am hoping for an even 5 gallons (or a touch more) bottle volume doing a single stage fermentation.

I was thinking of mashing with 4 gal of water which would be just over 1.5 quarts/pound and batch sparging with 4ish gallons. I don't yet have volume markings inside my brewpot so I don't typically know when to stop my runoff.

Here's what my last two batches have yielded:
1) Belgian Style Tripel - 12.5# grain, mashed with 4 gal & sparged with ~4.5 gal. My target was 5.25 gal but actual yield was 4.25 gal. I missed high with OG (target was 1.079 and actual was 1.085) so ended up with higher alcohol than planned. The higher alcohol wasn't a big deal I was just a little bummed that I missed my volume by so much.

2) IPA - 14# grain, mashed with 4.5 gal (just over 1.25 quarts/pound) & sparged with 4.5 gal. my target fermentation volume was 5.25 gal but actual was 4.75+. My target OG was around 1.060 but actual was 1.076 (Oops!) Once again I missed my target volume (ended with just over 4.5 gal after 2ndary fermentation) and my alcohol was quite a bit higher than what I was hoping for.

Should I pay attention to the total water used per pound of grain or just focus more on dialing in mash volumes and sparge volumes separately?

Thanks!