Want to make Hefeweizen like Butternuts Heinnieweiss

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PapaJerseyG

Reaction score
Hi All,
I want to make a hefeweisen as my next (and only second) batch. As a beginner, I would like to stick to mostly extract, but I need some tips. One of my favorite hefeweizens, which I would like to make something close to, is Heinnieweiss Farmhouse Ale from Butternuts Brewery in NY. It comes in the green cans. It's the perfect summer beer because it's lighter in flavor than most hefeweizens and is very drinkable (probably goes down too easily on a hot day). It doesn't really have any clove flavor to it and doesn't have a strong yeasty flavor. It's mostly citrus and banana flavors. Even the color is a very bright yellow. I've seen it described as a traditional Bavarian hefeweisen, but it seems less intense than the Bavarian one's I've had.

If anyone is familiar with Heinnieweiss, what are some tips for making somether similar using extracts?

Thanks!

According to their website, its a weizen brewed with a 67% wheat in the grist and uses a traditional Bavarian weizen yeast and has a ABV of 4.9%. I'd go with about 7lbs of wheat DME, boil for 60 mins with 1oz of Hallertauer at 60 mins.. Ferment with WLP351 at 66F. I think you'll want to keep close tabs on your fermentation temps, its not bad if it rises up a couple of degrees but I would keep it below 70. Thats for a 5 gallon batch

Wow, thanks for the fast response, I'll try this out. My basement stays at around 67 or 68 degrees so I will ferment it down there. I fermented my Extra Pale Ale in a room that was always 70 degrees except for a few hours where the temp in the room went up to 78. Hope it comes out okay.