using christmas lights at bottle conditioning

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johnnyt471

Reaction score
Due to energy saving at my house, the temp goes down to around 64-65 during the day, and then up to about 70-72 at night, so I think I have a problem with my bottles not being at a very good temp for conditioning (I've been waiting over a month, and it's not carbonated yet). What if I put some christmas lights in the box to boost the temp a little bit? I want to raise the temp, but I don't want it to get skunky.

I'm not an expert, but the first thing that comes to mind is fire hazard? The bulbs that would work to create some heat I wouldn't want touching anything flammable, ie cardboard, if I could help it, but that's just me. Maybe overly cautious.

First post here, but I think one could come up with 7 ways to boost temps that do not involve christmas lights.

I would think that if the bottles were placed somewhere in the center of the house, the temp swings would be minimal.

I'll be the voice of dissent here - I find that when my bottles are less than 70, it slows bottle conditioning noticeably. They carb, just more slowly.

Here's a couple of ideas that may or may not help you. We have a 1/2 bathroom, small, with a heat vent. If I close the door to that room, it gets warm in there, so that becomes my bottle conditioning room. I also have an upstairs bedroom closet that is noticeably warmer if kept closed (I think a heat duct runs through that wall). You might see if you can find a space like that in your home.