Trying to make traditional Taiwanese millet wine (xiao mi jiu/小米酒)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all, since I'm a resident of Taiwan I've decided to give the traditional indigenous drink of millet wine a try. There are plenty of rice wine recipes online, but not so much for millet wine. From the sources I've managed to find, I've put together the following plan:

600 grams of millet
2 litres of water
150 grams of sugar
1 yeast ball

1. Rinse the millet, lightly toast it in a dry pan, add to a pot of boiling water and simmer until sticky (45 mins or so).
2. Allow it to cool to room temperature, then add the crushed yeast ball and stir.
3. Transfer the mixture to a clean glass jar, and cover it with cheesecloth, allowing air to enter.
4. Store in a cool, dark spot for 10-14 days, stirring occasionally.
5. Dissolve sugar in warm water and add to the mixture according to taste.
6. Return to storage for another 1-2 weeks.
7. Transfer the wine to bottles, sealing them well to keep air out
8. Store bottles in the same cool, dark place for weeks/months to allow flavours to develop.
9. Enjoy!

I was hoping others in the forum might add their knowledge to this. One thing I'm not sure about is the initial fermentation. Should I allow air in or not? I've seen plenty videos and read plenty of recipes for rice wine. They seem divided on the issue, with perhaps the majority saying it should be airtight. Anybody got any input on that, or any of the rest of the recipe? If not, I'll probably just jump in this coming weekend. The ingredients are dirt cheap so it's not a huge deal if it works, other than the time I spend on it. Thanks in advance for any advice!

Hi!