Total beginner

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WoolyBooger

Reaction score
I am a homebrew guy, but I bought my wife a Riesling kit and corker for her birthday so that she can share the joys of making what you drink.

My questions: Can I use a 6.5 gallon glass
Carboy as a fermenter for a 6 gallon kit? I have never made wine and I don't know how active the fermentation will be. I plan on using a blowoff tube just in case. Will this work or do I absolutely need a larger fermentation vessel? Is there anything else I need to know prior to beginning?

As a 3 kit "expert", I've used the 6+? gallon fermentation pail that came in my beer making kit for the wines I've made, and had no issues. The kits have fizzed like soda pop while fermenting, but made no krausen. Not exactly answering what you asked, just sharing my newbee wine making experiences...

Fred

WoolyBooger said:
I am a homebrew guy, but I bought my wife a Riesling kit and corker for her birthday so that she can share the joys of making what you drink.

My questions: Can I use a 6.5 gallon glass
Carboy as a fermenter for a 6 gallon kit? I have never made wine and I don't know how active the fermentation will be. I plan on using a blowoff tube just in case. Will this work or do I absolutely need a larger fermentation vessel? Is there anything else I need to know prior to beginning?

I got my sis a reisling kit and used my home brew stuff. with no issue. There isn't a fermentation like beer. But ours didn't turn out very good. We still have alot left. I don't think I degassed enough. Id buy the degasser want thing that goes in a drill.

Good luck. Home u get to enjoy it in 4months lol