Too much priming sugar... soon to be bottle bombs...what to do?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slohiker

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm relatively new to brewing, and still working on the whole process. This is my fourth or fifth batch, and I added too much priming sugar before I bottled, though I realized a day too late.

I'm brewing the Bavarian hefeweisen, with a 2 1/2 gallon batch , and I primed with 3.7 ounces of corn sugar. I bottled last Tuesday, and realized the next day that I shouldn't have tried to match the CO2 levels of the style as it will definitely lead to bottle bombs.

This evening I carefully lifted the bottle caps to release some of the pressure in the head space, but I figure I have at least 2 1/2 weeks left before all the corn sugar has fermented. Some of the bottles are already so carbonated that they began foaming almost immediately.

I figure I have two options … I can either take off all the bottle caps and cover the tops with sterilized aluminum foil to allow some of the carbonation to go down overnight, then re-cap and keep the batch safely in a cooler and gently lift the caps to release pressure every day.
Or, I can try to bottle pasteurize the batch, and at least be able to drink it.

Does anybody have any thoughts or advice?

Nevermind, I think I'm too late to bottle pasteurize... eh, at least it wasn't a five gallon batch.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Home Brew mobile app

I think you're overreacting a little. I use 6 oz corn sugar for a 5 gal batch, I don't think 3.7 is going to make bottle bombs, maybe just throw them in the fridge after 10-12 days

Bottle caps are cheap. Uncap then to let out excess pressure and recap them. Do it where spilled beer or foam won't make a mess though.