Too much flavor

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cbren723

Reaction score
So I am new to brewing (only four batches ). This time I created my own recipe, based off help from Beersmith software. i was wondering if a beer can ever have too much flavor or if i am putting too much flavor into my recipe? Should I use some ingredients that wont have too much effect on the flavor I am going for?

My current recipe for a scotch ale (90 min boil):

1. Steep using- 1.5 lb roasted barley, .5 lb chocalte malt, .5 lb smoked malt, .5lb victory

-2 lb amber extract @ 90 min
- 1 oz Williamette Hops for a first wort hop @80 min
- 2 lb amber extract for a late extract addition @40 min
- 6 lb pale otter pale malt extract for another late additon @ 30 min
- .3 lb brown sugar @ 20 min
- kent goldings uk hops @ (flame out)

If anyone has any suggestions let me know. I think I am getting a little fancy and into the flavor descriptions I have read online.

I did not look at your recipe, however, if you are trying to stay true to a style then you need to be concerned with exactly what goes in your recipe and process. If you do not care about keeping to style then brew that recipe and make changes so it tastes good to you. Remember, some folks started homebrewing so they can get more flavor cause commercial beers are missing something to them.

With 1.5 pounds of roasted barley, you are making a stout and not a Scottish ale.