Thirteen questions about winemaking from an experienced homebrewer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

danbronson

Reaction score
Hello, I have some experience with all grain homebrewing that may help with winemaking, which I intend to do next weekend for the first time with a kit I've just purchased (Cru Select Chile Style Cabernet Malbec Carménère). I have much of the equipment necessary - several carboys, a temperature controlled fermentation fridge, airlocks/blow-off tubes, PBW/Starsan, silicon hosing, autosiphon, funnels, bottling wand... And a little equipment that may be beneficial - stirplate, digital pH meter, lactic acid, yeast nutrient, oxygenation stone/tanks, beer bottles/caps...

Here is my list of questions, I really appreciate any and all answers people may have! I really want to stress that I'm not interested "it'll still make wine, don't worry about it" ways of thinking. I'm interested in answers that result in the best possible wine I can make with this kit.

1. Will it be beneficial for me to check and adjust the pH at any point?
  2. With brewing I use reverse osmosis water and add CaSO4 and CaCl2 to control the mineral profile. Will controlling water chemistry improve my wine too, even if it's from a kit? My tap water is high in bicarbonate/alkalinity and moderate in just about everything else. It's good for drinking.