Testing SG

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brews and Blues

Reaction score
Newbie here - I've done 4 or 5 kits now and one small thing has always perplexed me. What is the best way to get samples out of the fermenter to test SG? I am using brew buckets and just want to make sure fermentation is completed before bottling. I have a friend that says he uses a sanitized baster to draw the sample out and into the hydrometer tube. Is that the best way? I just don't want to screw anything up by taking the lid off of the bucket. Thanks!

If you're doing 5 gal batches, the simplest way to get SG is to cool your wort, transfer to the fermenter, and carefully place your sanitized hydrometer into the fermenter to get a reading. You can do the same for final gravity too. Just use caution that your hydrometer doesn't bottom out. If it does, you can't get a reading and you could also crack your hydrometer.

A better way would be to use a test jar made for hydrometer samples. You can find them on all the homebrew sites and Amazon. Then to collect the sample, a wine thief or turkey baster work fine. Just don't squeeze the baster into your beer because you'll be infected air into your finished beer which is NG.

You could also add a valve to you bucket and use that for samples. IMO, this is the best way. The valve is also useful for transferring to your bottling bucket or keg.

If you're doing 5 gal batches, the simplest way to get SG is to cool your wort, transfer to the fermenter, and carefully place your sanitized hydrometer into the fermenter to get a reading. You can do the same for final gravity too. Just use caution that your hydrometer doesn't bottom out. If it does, you can't get a reading and you could also crack your hydrometer.