Swimming in beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Awnry Abe

Reaction score
I am a novice home brewer. I started at the beginning of the pandemic when a friend of mine from Pennsylvania told me the state shut down his booze supply. In a panic, I ran into the garage to count days of supply on hand from the grocery store. My wife was already into wine making, so she encouraged me to give brewing a shot. I'm up to batch 42. I just switched to all grain. I think my addiction is in the perfection of the process--not in the brewing--or even the consumption. I sit around and daydream of dumb things like ways to make clean up easier. Of the 42 batches, only 1 was undrinkable. Several others have something off, some I just don't enjoy, and some are exceptional. I can't pull the trigger and just unload the ones that I skip past when filling the fridge. Is anyone else in the same boat? Where the fun comes from making a better beer, but getting enough at-bats to do so results in too much beer? Do you dump? I'm thinking of maybe distilling them to have some alcohol for medicinal purposes.

Absolutely. I like drinking, but I like brewing more. And with the pandemic, friend gatherings have been rare, so I have fewer opportunities to empty my kegs. Since I keg, I can't just leave beers in my fridge indefinitely. I generally need to empty a keg before I can make a new one. So I dump beer quite often.

I'm thinking of brewing smaller batches--maybe 3 gallons--so I can brew more frequently.

Last edited:
42 5-gallon batches in 2 years! Holy Mo!
You definitely belong here on HBT, welcome to the club! ;)

It takes about as much work and time to brew 5-10 gallons as it takes 2-3 gallons. That's why 5 gallons seems such a good medium ground for the time vs. beer tradeoff.