Summit SBC-500SSPST (SBC-500)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fullofdust

Reaction score
Hi all. Newbie here. Been homebrewing for a couple years now and wanted to contribute my recent experiences into the world of kegging with a specific Summit model:

When I was researching kegerators, I kept being drawn to the Summit SBC-500SSPST. When I went and checked a bunch out in person, it looked to be built a bit sturdier than the slightly less expensive Haier and other models. However, I couldn't find much info on it in the form of actual user reviews/experiences so I thought I'd put down my thoughts in case others are looking at the same model.

I bought from BeverageFactory.com as they seemed to have the best price on the unit and the're local to San Diego, so I was able to go pick it up in person and discuss the different models with a salesperson.

Short story, is that so far its a great unit. It's all stainless except the sides which look stainless but the salesman told me they aren't. The cold plate is huge compared to a lot of less expensive models, and I have it set at 39-40 degrees with the thermostat under halfway up. This thing gets COLD. You would probably freeze your beer if you cranked it all the way up. This is a great unit if you want 3 taps but don't have the room for a keezer or full-size fridge. Or if you're like me and SWMBO required that it "look pretty" if it was going to be in the house.

Here are the things you need to know before deciding on this model: