Strong yeast flavor

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rollinred

Reaction score
I have been brewing on and off for three years, probably 12-16 batches total. All are extract kits.

Some of the batches I have made have turned out well, but others simply have an overpowering yeast flavor and aroma.

When I was new to brewing I immediately assumed that it was infection and dumped the batch or two. I completely refined my sanitizing practices. The flavor did not change at all. I then started to learn a bit more about craft beers and noticed this same flavor if you pour carefully off of the yeast sediment in a natural carb beer, then swirl it and drink that last few drops mixed with yeast. Except for my beers have a stronger yeast flavor than that.

I have tried doing primary for two weeks and secondary for 4-6 weeks. No good results. Moved to long primaries, same results. Got the keezer up and running. Now I cold crash everything before kegging it up. Still the same thing.

But... Mixed in with those bad batches I have had a few good ones that taste amazing without changing anything in my process.

oh yes... forgot to mention that I do ferment in a temp controlled chamber, usually set at 60-65 degrees and still have this flavor.

I have used dry yeast and also tried starters from liquid yeast, neither one seemed to make a difference.

I need to figure this out.

I think you need to provide some details on the kits and your process - post boil, sanitation, types of yeast, fermenter, etc. Aeration of wort? If you were to pull a hydro sample a few days into the ferment do you taste it?

I am amazed that you stuck with it for 12-16 batches over 3 years, with that kind of desire you will eventually get it right.