Stout Recipe Help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mpenn35

Reaction score
So I'm making a stout, and I'm creating my own extract recipe for it. Here's what I'm looking at:

Steeping:

1 lb flaked oats
.5 lb English Roasted Barley
.25 lb Biscuit OR Victory
.25 lb Franco Belges Kiln Coffee
.25 lb Pale Chocolate

3.15 lbs LME
1-2 lbs DME (late addition likely)

60 minutes 1 oz Cascade
15 minutes .5 oz Cascade or Magnum

I'm new to forming recipes, so if this makes no sense, don't be afraid to tell me. I'm going with the oats for some of the mouthfeel, the biscuit or victory for some bready character, and the kiln coffee and pale chocolate for some coffee and chocolate notes. Also considered secondary on cacao nibs but I'm undecided on that.

I haven't plugged this in to any software so I have no idea what the OG will be yet. Not looking for anything super high, but in the 1.070 range or 6.5-8% ABV would be good. Not really looking for an imperial stout, so I've gotta decide on how much DME to use.

Thoughts? Advice?

Edit: This is a five gallon recipe, and I will be using Danstar Nottingham yeast.

I think it looks pretty good but you might want to bump up the roasted barley closer to a lb. You're going to need more extract, too, if you're looking for 1.070. You probably should plug it into some software as you mentioned before you brew it.

I'd also personally bitter with the magnum and save the cascade for late. You're going to want more IBUs than an ounce of cascade would get you.
:mug: