Stock ales - recipe feedback / help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JKaranka

Reaction score
Hi guys

Working on a stock ale to brew in March for drinking around Christmas time. Based on recipes for KK / KKK / KKKK stock ales. To be first fermented with S04 and then aged with Brett C.

Haven't quite worked out attenuation, plus I've never used Brett before.

5 US Gallons

OG 1.075, 90 IBU, 7.5 SRM

12lb Maris Otter (93%)
10oz #1 Invert Sugar Syrup (5%)
4oz Amber Malt (2%)

90 minute boil
90m - 2oz Challenger
20m - 1.5oz Fuggles, 1.5oz EKG

Anybody?

Got all the ingredients and more in stock. Another option would be to go for 7lb Maris Otter, 6lb Belgian Pale Ale Malt and some Invert Syrup. Or make it slightly weaker and darker / toastier with 11lb Maris Otter and bump up the Amber Malt to 1/2lb.

I like the original recipe. I would opt for a higher gravity (90s) and lower IBU (70-80), plus some med-dark crystal malt (5% maybe). Put 1/2 oz of the EKG in for dry hop.

You'll end with high FG with S04 (1.020-1.030). Brett C should bring you down into range (1.015ish).

It sounds fun. If I'm in Wales this winter I'll stop in for a sip :D

Hey stpug! I went the other way in the end, lighter rather than stronger. I thought I might end up going through a few with the inlaws and I might leave the heavy stuff for the triple stouts and such.

I've scaled to 5 US gallons

OG 1.067, FG 1.010?, 7.5% ABV, 65IBU, colour: about 10SRM.

Grist
5lb Maris Otter 2-row (2.5L)
5lb Dingelmans Belgian Ale Malt (4L)
17oz Invert sugar syrup #2
1oz Black Patent Malt

1st Mash - 152F @ 60m, 2nd Mash - 158F @ 30m

90 minute boil
90m - 1.5oz EKG, 1.5oz Saaz
20m - 1.5oz EKG, 1.5oz Saaz

Ferment with Nottingham, bottle with Brett C.