Spices Quantities and yeast selection - Thai Saison

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mcwilcr

Reaction score
I'm in the process of formulating a recipe for/with a friend for his wedding beer and am planning on hopefully brewing a test batch this weekend. He wants to make something wild with lots of traditional Thai spices, coconut and papaya. I'm not real worried about the coconut and the papaya since I have used coconut and similar fruit before but I am a bit concerned about some of the spices that I have never used before. I'm sure I'm leaving something out since I don't have the list in front front of me right now but here are my initial thoughts.

Allspice - 1 tsp.
cinnamon - 2-3 sticks ground
turmeric - 1 tsp. (This is the one I am most worried about)
coriander - 1 oz. fresh ground seed
basil/thai basil - 1 bunch

I'm thinking of using Wyeast 3787 or 3711 for this beer. My buddy wants something similar to a Belgian strong ale (3787) which isn't really right but I am thinking something like a strong farmhouse saison (3711) we will be shooting for a simple grist with 1 maybe 2 malts, light hopping with noble hops (probably hallertau) and somewhere around 2 lbs of natural palm sugar (possibly partially candi'd for color and complexity)

any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Don't use spices, especially those spices, for a Thai Saison. Some of them are out of place for a Thai focus. Others are primarily used in curries. You don't want a curry beer, do you?