So what sort of a freezer should I be looking for? Kegs and fermenters need to fit.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PersonalBrewer

Reaction score
I have been brewing for several years, this year I tried to build up a supply of kegs of beer so I wouldn't have to brew in the heat. Stored them at room temp.

Bad idea, ten gallons oxidized on me - so much that I don't want to drink it.

So, I'm thinking a freezer that I can use a Johnson control with to keep the temp above freezing.

I have an igloo keezer that's seven cubic feet or so and it holds three kegs, plus CO2 on the shelf above the compressor part.

I have never done cold crashing or lagering, so have no idea what type I should be looking for. Would try them if I had the ability to do so.

In pics that people have posted I see a wide variety.

Hopefully someone will suggest what type and size (stand up, chest, etc.) will suit a variety of brewing needs.

I'm looking for something I can buy at home depot or lowe's

Can you refine your usage model for this new appliance?
Note that holding finished beer in kegs in the same chamber with fermenting beer is impractical...

Cheers!

I never had the opportunity to cold crash, or lager, or whatever so didn't pay much attention.

I would like to keep some kegs cold at a minimum.

If there are other uses I could do at the same time that would be great.

I have a wine cooler that will hold two speidel 8 gal fermenters at appropriate temps for most yeast recommendations but the cooler won't go below 54 degrees or so.

Here are some generalized bulletpoints that you may find helpful
1. You can usually fit more kegs in a chest freezer as compared to the same size upright freezer or fridge.
2. It is generally easier to lift kegs in and out of an upright.