So let's start a discussion of Brew Boss vs. High Gravity systems

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beavdowg

Reaction score
These are two systems that interest me. I don't have the skills or tools to complete a build of my own electrical system but I know I want to transition to electric brewing. I've been brewing since the mid nineties and all-graining for the last 5 years but am pretty convinced that moving to BIAB is best for me. I'm mostly intrigued by the time savings and simplicity of the process. I've got young kids and taking 5-6 hours to brew is wearing thin on the family and frankly, on me too.

Anyway, I've checked out both systems and would love some constructive discussion on the two systems, pros & cons, opinions, experiences with each, etc.

I'll start out. I think the automation of the BB (Brew Boss) is intriguing, however, I also like to be able to manually control things when I want to. I do want to feel like I'm actually brewing not just pushing a button and out pours beer. Are there limitations to having so much automation? Can you control how much is automated vs how much is manually controlled?

Is there any downside to not having the "infinite" boil control that the HG (High Gravity) system has with the dial vs. what I assume is a percentage power control with the BB system?

:mug:

I don't have any experience with either system in a brew process other than hands on with both systems and the electric BrewEasy at NHC2014, but that's never stopped anyone from commenting before.

The potentiometer on the High Gravity system allows you to turn down element power after boil. The BrewBoss system uses a boil set point of 220 to reach and maintain the boil.