Simple: Imperial Stout

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yard_bird

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing this style, though do have experience brewing higher gravity beers (wee heavy, barley wine, quad). I think RIS is an appropriate next challenge for me since it takes some coordinating the malt//roast/residual sweetness/hops/alcohol in a way I'm new to. While the recipe in Brewing Classic Styles looks good, ideally I can keep this recipe simple so I can order my grain online with no leftovers, though I'm willing to kill a day driving to and from the HBS if it makes a big difference. Again, being new to brewing this style, I'm looking for advice. Thinking something like:

77% Maris Otter
15% Brown malt
8% Black patent

65 IBU English hops

Nottingham

Shooting for an OG ~1.100. When I've used Notty in the past on a 1.080 beer I got about 80% AA. Assuming similar performance, this recipe could go 1.100-1.020 Obviously mash temp would come into play, thinking about probably 154F for this beer.

Lastly, I've seen some recipes use Candi sugar to coax out some dark fruit flavors with this style. In keeping with my KISS method, if I were to use this, I'd use a whole pound and scale my final volume accordingly:

72% M/O
14% Brown
7% Black patent
7% D-180 or D-90

Thanks all, any feedback is appreciated.

Lastly, I've seen some recipes use Candi sugar to coax out some dark fruit flavors with this style. In keeping with my KISS method,

I'm not sure why they're using candi. The historical beers they're referencing used invert. There are very simple methods to make your own invert. If you're planning on skipping the historical brett, you're definitely going to want to use sugar of some kind to help bring the FG down.