Short life of keezers - failing too frequently

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

timsch

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Does anyone else have a shorter life to their keezers than the'd expect? I have always used chest freezers, usually the smaller sizes since I only keep 3 Cornys in there. Mine have only been lasting 2-3 years before failing; not dying outright, but failing to keep temperatures low while the compressor seems to run all the time.

What are the tips for longevity? I understand people run fans inside. Does this help the life? Anything else?

Mine just went out and I haven’t had the time to troubleshoot it. I’ve been using it for 3 years. It’s much older however, it came with the house we bought 3 years ago

I use 3 minutes between when it goes off and when it can be started again. Don't remember where I read that(probably on an air conditioner compressor?), and I have 2 fridges and 1 freezer running at whatever temp I tell them to(mostly 38-40) that have been running for anywhere from 5-10 years. I have used the Inkbird controllers and home-grown controllers. The biggest thing I have had to do so far is replace a start capacitor on my beverage-air fridge last year.

On a trouble-shooting note, if you can get to it, check the compressor capacitor as that seems to be a frequent enough problem for some people..

It should also be noted, I tend to overshoot on the cooling a little, and set it to not start cooling until it is 3 degrees(F) warmer than my set point, so it runs a little longer and runs less frequently.