SCOBIES are forever ?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mevla

Reaction score
Hello, I'm rather new to brewing kombucha and have made so far a few batches, all with second fermentation (apples and ginger). I'm totally sold. It tastes so good.

Are SCOBIES everlasting ? How to tell if it's still going good ? Is there a way to gauge how well it does, how potent it is ? And, if only tea and sugar are used, no SCOBY, and left the same amount f time, would that result in somthing similar ?

Cheers.

People think the pellicle is what holds the culture of bacteria and yeast. It is not. The kombucha liquid itself is the culture. You need to save 20% for the next batch. As long as you make new batches with proper sugar, proper nitrogen, proper pH, etc, and it doesn't get infected you can grow culture forever.

Some people like to continuous brew using a vessel with a spigot, pouring into secondary bottles from the bottom and refreshing with new sweet tea from the top. It works well except for the fact that continuous brewing concentrates alcohol.

I waited for the current batch to complete, didn't want to disturb it, so I can take pictures. Thanks for mentioning that the culture is in the brew. At first I didn't get it, now I do.

So here's how it looks like, top and bottom. From what I understand so far, the thin top is discarded while the bottom, much thicker, is another SCOBY growing.

Is it possible to gauge the 'potency' (for lack of a better term) of a brew by how well the 2nd SCOBY is doing ?

And, I do not check for nitrogen and pH. Would like to, though, at least to establish a reference. I guess I can get pH strips, but how does one go about testing for nitrogen ?