Rookie needing some advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
As you will possibly tell I'm a total rookie at brewing but figured hell if they can make hard cider in prison then I must stand a chance. I have started a 5 gallon batch using store brought juice, some fresh apples, 2 pints of strong tea, 3 lb of honey and 1 kilo of sugar. I wasn't sure how much yeast to use so opted for a large sachet of Nottingham and a small sachet of cider yeast. Within 6 hours it's bubbling like every 4 seconds. I figured this was a good sign but I'd kinda love to know though if I have used to much yeast or to much sugar / honey and what will happen now. How long will it ferment for and do I need to secondary ferment. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Sent from my iPad using Home Brew

As you will possibly tell I'm a total rookie at brewing but figured hell if they can make hard cider in prison then I must stand a chance. I have started a 5 gallon batch using store brought juice, some fresh apples, 2 pints of strong tea, 3 lb of honey and 1 kilo of sugar. I wasn't sure how much yeast to use so opted for a large sachet of Nottingham and a small sachet of cider yeast. Within 6 hours it's bubbling like every 4 seconds. I figured this was a good sign but I'd kinda love to know though if I have used to much yeast or to much sugar / honey and what will happen now. How long will it ferment for and do I need to secondary ferment. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

sounds like an interesting recipe. is the strong tea just brewed black tea? that would be a way to get some tannin balance in the cider.