Red/Pale Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

feedthebear

Reaction score
This weekend I'm making my first attempt at a Red Ale. Its my first attempt at something on the hoppy-bitter side of the spectrum and I was wondering what people thought of my hop choices. I'm trying to hop it more like a Pale Ale than an IPA.

Also I was wondering what everyone thought of the use of honey. I'm not sold on it.

The recipe:
6.6 lb of Pale LME
1 lb of extra light DME
1 lb of light crystal malt
0.5 lb of Munich malt
0.5 lb of Carapils
0.25 lb of roasted barley
1 lb of honey (most likely clove or alfalfa)

1.5 oz Centennial Leaf (60 minutes) (assume 10.7%AA)
1.5 oz Centennial Leaf (30 minutes) (assume 10.7%AA)
1 oz Fuggles Leaf (2 minutes) (assume 4.4%AA)

British Whitbread Ale Yeast (Wyeast 1098)
Est. O.G. = 1.073
Est. HBU = 32
Est. IBU = 103

I was going to suggest you cut the crystal to .5 lb, but then I saw the OG. It'll need it. :D

I don't know what you mean by "hop it like a pale"...it seems like a lot of hops to me.

As for the honey, you'll get absolutely no honey character in that beer with all of the bitterness--so if it is in there just to raise OG, you'd be just as well off using corn sugar.

the honey will thin it out a touch and make it a bit dryer but what kicked me in the nutz was 103 IBUs?

high end for a Red is 28
for an American Pale ale is 45+
for an English Pale Ale (aka ESB) is 50+
for an IPA your looking at the high end being 60
Hell your even on the high end for an Imperial IPA 100+

IMHO throttel them hops back to about 40ish but keep the fuggels at the end for aroma