Recirculating eBIAB Build

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trav77

Reaction score
Well I am finally taking the plunge to eBIAB.

I've been brewing for about 15 years, most of that on some form of propane fired 3 vessel system (currently a converted keggle/cooler system). While it's been a great system for me, I would like to be able to brew in the basement (nasty climate in the winter here, plus I'm tired of running between the garage and the basement 100 times per brew day).

There are lots of build threads out there already but each one is a little different and I found them all useful when designing my plan... so one more couldn't hurt and I hope it helps someone else out.

So here goes. Custom kettle, hardware, bag, and controller components are all ordered. Just waiting for the brewhardware 15" false bottom to come back in stock and I'll be good to go!

Overall design and flow of the system. The 2 red hoses pictured are actually the same hose and will be moved from recirculating position to chilling/whirlpool positions.

biab flow.png

Panel design. I'm sure it will change slightly in the end, but this is the general design. Simple.

biab panel.png

Parts list. Some of it is in CAD so if you're in the US it will thankfully be cheaper!

parts list.png

Solid build plan. Keep in mind you don't want to unhook many hoses if they're full of wort and below the level of your kettle.

You could actually recirculate through the CFC for the entire brew if it made your plumbing easier. You could also look at something like this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/182048867607?lpid=82&chn=ps&ul_noapp=true so you don't have to unhook anything at all.