Recipe critique for my Espresso Stout?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm a beginner all grain brewer. I've never brewed a big beer before. I'd like to try. Other than my very first batch, I've always formulated my own recipe. But I'd like some advice on this recipe before I try it.

First, some background.

I recently tried both Oakshire Overcast Espresso Stout, and Southern Tier Mokah and liked aspects of each. I loved the strong espresso flavors of the Overcast. I loved the big beer mouth feel of the Mokah. I did not like the over the top chocolate flavors of the Mohah, but was wishing the Overcast had a little bit more.

So here is my recipe:

14 lbs Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM)
4 lbs Oats, Flaked (1.0 SRM)
2 lbs Roasted Barley (300.0 SRM)
1 lbs Caramel/Crystal Malt - 80L (80.0 SRM)
1 lbs Chocolate Malt (350.0 SRM)
4.0 oz Black (Patent) Malt (500.0 SRM)
2 lbs Candi Sugar, Dark (275.0 SRM)
1.5 oz Nugget [13.0%] - Boil 60 min
0.5 oz Willamette [5.5%] - Boil 15 min
0.50 tsp Irish Moss (Boil 10 min)
0.50 tsp Yeast Nutrient (Boil 10 min)
0.5 oz Willamette [5.5%] - Boil 0 min
2 pkgs Irish Ale Yeast (White Labs #WLP004)
0.50 lbs Espresso Roast Coffee (Primary 4 weeks)
1.00 oz Cacao Nibs - Ghana (Primary 4 weeks)

Color: 77.3 SRM
Bitterness: 55.0 IBUs
Est OG: 1.107 (25.1° P)
Est FG: 1.024 SG (6.2° P)
ABV: 11.1%

I plan on making a 3L starter, shaken not stirred, since I do not yet have a stir plate.

This will be batch sparged.

I plan on doing only a primary, and not bothering transferring to a secondary.

After the initial vigorous fermentation is complete, I plan on adding the cacao nibs, and the espresso directly to the primary. I will cold-brew the espresso and filter out the grounds before hand.