Raspberry Pi StrangeBrew Elsinore Basic Setup

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cank

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Raspberry Pi StrangeBrew Elsinore Basic Setup

I'm no expert but I got this working for the most part. I have not tried to brew with it yet but I know others have. Here is how I set it up for the Raspberry Pi:

Download and install latest NOOBS

http://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads
*EDIT* Install Raspbian Operating system and set it up based on your location.

Set up your DS18 probes

https://www.cl.cam.ac.uk/projects/raspberrypi/tutorials/temperature/

Then run this code in the LXTerminal to automatically load the One-Wire modules on start up

Open /etc/modules to edit
Code:
sudo nano /etc/modules

Add these lines to the bottom of the file /etc/modules
Code:
w1-gpio
w1-therm

Then reboot
Code:
sudo reboot

Download the SB_Elsinore_Server from git
Code:
git clone https://github.com/DougEdey/SB_Elsinore_Server.git ~/BrewServer

Switch directories
Code:
cd ~/BrewServer

Run Elsinore
Code:
sudo java -jar Elsinore.jar

It will run some lines of code then show a list of your sensors and ask you to:
Code:
Select the input, enter "r" to refresh, or use "pump <name> <gpio>" to add a pump
Type "volume" to start volume calibration
Type "timer <name>" to add a timer
**EDIT** If you get an error at this point saying it can't see your sensor check out this post.

It might ask you about switching to OWFS. Say No.

**EDIT** See this post to make sure you use the correct GPIO pins for output and you don't choose one that is in the default HIGH state when the Pi boots up!!!

At this point enter the number of the sensor you want to set up and hit enter. (I only had one so I entered "1" and hit enter.