Ranger Clone

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thomasmcdaniel9

Reaction score
Hey guys i just started brewing about a month ago and my first brew that came with the kit turned out pretty good. But now i am in the process of conditioning my NBB ranger clone its been in the bottles for a little over a week now so i figured i would try one it has a caramel taste i followed the instructions to the t but the only thing im supposed to condition for 6 weeks will the caramel taste go away after i wait longer or no its missing the hoppy aroma also am i doing something wrong :confused:

Can you give a little more information as to the recipe and your process? That may help in figuring out why the beer doesn't taste like you expected it to.

Can you give a little more information as to the recipe and your process? That may help in figuring out why the beer doesn't taste like you expected it to.

^^This^^
Without details there's no way to determine what characteristics your beer should have had or why it doesn't.

Here is the recipe that they gave me if you cant see it ill type it in

IMG_20160128_181513303.jpg

If the hop bitterness isn't pulling through it's possible your boil volume was too low and/or your boil gravity was too high for hop isomerization. That would explain unbalanced caramel flavors - "caramelization".

Caramelization (British English: caramelisation) is the browning of sugar, a process used extensively in cooking for the resulting nutty flavor and brown color. As the process occurs, volatile chemicals are released, producing the characteristic caramel flavor.