Racking to secondary this sunday

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LostBavarianMan

Reaction score
And adding gel. to help clear things up. I am planning on leaving in secondary for a week. And then bottling. Here is the recipe I used. Please advise if this is going to be good enough in 2nd fermenter. Im still a noob and dont want to screw anything up this only my second batch.
4lb can Muntons Canadian Ale
2 lbs Biscuit Malt
1/2 lb Chocolat mat
2 Lbs Briess Light DME
1/2 cup Molassas
1oz Amarillo hops at 30
1 oz Amarillo Hops at 15
45 minute boil
5 gal batch.

That's alot of biscuit malt, and the molasses is weird. I don't think I've ever done only a 30 minute hops addition with amarillo, either. Anyway, the recipe isn't very good (I wouldn't use one again from that source) but the beer might be good anyway!

I wouldn't bother with secondary at all. I'd just wait until day 21 and bottle the beer, if the FG is stable.

There is mixed reviews on using a secondary. The only 2 cents i will offer is this: I wouldnt bother with a secondary if you only plan on doing it for a week. i only secondary if it will be for 2 weeks or more......gives the beer time to clear a bit after the racking inevitably stirs things up alittle.
If you only want one more week to to clear it up (if you are trying to have it ready by a certain date, for example), leave it one more week in the primary.

When I tasted from the Hydro it was very tasty. And it smelled like Chocolate bread during the boil. I think its going to be a very tasty beer.