Questions concerning New March Pump.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

y2jrock60

Reaction score
My buddy and I have been brewing strong for the past 7 months. We started our operation with a cheap 7.5 gallon turkey fryer. It worked great and make some excellent brews. However, about 4 months ago we decided to purchase a Blichman burner and make a keggle so we could start brewing up 10 gallon batches. The keggle has been awesome, no worries about boil over, and the efficiency of our 10 gallon batches is usually higher than what we get with our 5 gallon batches (probably due to the increased amount of sparge water).

However, there are a few problems we've been having with our setup. Transferring large amounts of water has been a pain. Dumping water out though the 12" hole on top of the keggle creates a mess. We decided to purchase a March pump to do the liquid transfers.

I know the outlet of the pump needs to be higher than the input. We mounted the pump with the output facing up and the input down on a leg of our brew stand. I guess the pump needs to be fed water to start pumping, which isn't a problem if you have gravity feeding the pump from the inlet, which is not feasible in our setup. We've been taking a 1/2" auto siphon and attaching it to our input and pushing water up to the pump. When the water reaches the pump we flip it on and it starts moving the water. Is there an easier way to do this, other then feeding the pump with gravity to get it started?

Also, our hose becomes extremely flimsy when transferring our 1668 degree strike water to the mash tun. I don't know if the hose we have is too long or just garbage. I know the pump can handle up to 270 degree temps.