Question Regarding Hefeweizen I brewed today

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Daddyboul

Reaction score
Hey all, I am new to the fourm and experienced a few things that I haven't experienced yet while brewing a hefeweizen today. The first thing I experienced was really low efficiency (~50%); which from what I have read may have to do with the mill job, but I work at my local LHBS so I was the dude that milled it. But anyway I'm going off-topic; this was also the first brew I did with a step mash. I had a ferulic acid rest(113) for 15, and a protein rest(133) for 30, and while the protein rest was going on I did a decoction with about 33% of my grain and water. I finished with a 45-minute mash(150) followed by a dunk sparge into 170-degree water.

The first question was that my cooled wort had massive amounts of proteins floating around as if I accidentally threw 5 whirlfloc tablets into it, but I didn't use any whirlfloc, so I was wondering if the protein rest is responsible for this whirlfloc like affect? My second question is could any of these steps have affected my efficiency at all? Because admittingly the wheat still looked pretty crushed to me after the fact so I find it hard to believe that could be the cause of the low OG issue. I've also brewed on this same setup at least 20 times and have had great results, the only difference this time was the high wheat bill and the fact that I didn't do a single infusion the way I normally do, so I feel the need to ask if any of those steps could mess up starch extraction.

It was BIAB and the grain bill was:
6# pale wheat
2# barke munich
2# pils
All weyermann

Was this your first brew of any kind with a high percentage of wheat? I think the "ropiness" is kinda built in with high wheat beers.