Question for Keg Hoppers

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DocHop

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm relatively new to kegging and have a few questions about dry hopping in the keg.

1. Are those of you who dry hop in the keg racking directly from your primary to the keg? If so, do you go to the keg as soon as your gravity readings have stabilized, or do you give it longer in the primary?

2. Are you carbing right after you add the hops, or waiting until you've finished dry hopping and removed the bag? I imagine you're using the set & forget method and not shaking the keg once you have a bag of hops inside the keg.

Thanks for the help.

Anywhere from 2-4 weeks in primary, then I cold crash for 2-5 days. Dry hops in and start carbing immediately in the serving keg. I've never done the keg shaking method, seems so impatient to me.

I'm new to this as well, but I racked to my keg then I force carbed the keg. After that I let all the pressure off and (probably people won't agree with this) I put my hops in a sanitized tea ball wrapped inside a grain sock and opened the keg and dropped it in and sealed it back up real quick. Then set to serving psi and it's amazing!

Thanks for the replies. I think I'll go 2 weeks in primary, 2 days cold crash, and then dry hop with set/forget carbing. Tempting to force carb though, since the pipeline is dry and paying $10/6 pack is getting expensive.

Thanks for the replies. I think I'll go 2 weeks in primary, 2 days cold crash, and then dry hop with set/forget carbing. Tempting to force carb though, since the pipeline is dry and paying $10/6 pack is getting expensive.

Force carbing is using co2 to carb your beer. So I assume that unless you're using priming sugar that you're force carbing.