Query - ABV

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skitter

Reaction score
Hello!

So I have been brewing for 2+ years now, and never owned a hydrometer until yesterday...

That being said I decided to make a simple cider using the following:

2 x 1 Gallon Jugs of Musslemans Cider (apple juice and ascorbic acid only listed ingredients)
2x 12oz Cans Old Orchard Apple Juice Concentrate
24oz added water (rinsing the cans)
2c Brown Sugar
2 tbsp. Cinnimon Extract (home-made, Everclear + cinnamon sticks soaking for a year)

Pitched on top of about 1/2c US-05 yeast cake, fermented at 66 degrees for 2 weeks.

I measured my FG just for a test more than anything, and was sitting at .997 so I'm pretty sure fermentation was done.

Question being, is there any way to use the information above to determine what OG should have been?

calculate total points of sugar and devide by volume. the juice and concentrate should be labeled how many grams per serving so you should get a good number there. weigh out 2 cups of sugar, look up point values, I think sugar is 40 per lb give or take. so if you ended up with 120 points say, and 2 gallons of cider it would be 120 / 2 so 1.060. as a side note you should always weigh dry ingredients to keep accuracy btw.

Just over a week ago, I started two batches from store-bought apple juice and cider. Here's what I found that might (or might not) be helpful to you, plus my estimate for yours:

The juice from concentrate measured at about 1.045 before I added anything else. The unfiltered fresh-pressed style cider of the same brand (about twice as expensive) measured between 1.055 and 1.06 -- I estimated 1.058.