PurePitch disappointment

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jas0420

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Getting back into homebrew (yay!) and picked up a couple of packs of WLP029. Last time I brewed, White Labs shipped in test tubes, so this fanciness was new to me.

Need a big starter, so I am using them both. Shook them a bit and noticed they behaved differently.

I carefully cut the very tip top off the first outer package and pulled out the inner package fully intact. Neat.

Now that I was a pro, I did the same for the next. I immediately pulled out the inner pack and found all of the wort inside the outer package and the yeast (much thicker than the first) in the inner pack.

I could not find any holes but there was a darker area of yeast. Opened it and it smelled ok. Went ahead and started it in a separate flask and marked it as questionable. I’ll see what happens, but kinda bummed out by this.

Is this a total fluke or are there other issues? They were both stamped with the same date and lot #1076565.
Adjustments.JPG

A bit confused - these aren't smack packs, there's just yeast and spent wort in there, yes?
If the inner pouch was breached before you got hold of the package I wouldn't trust the price of a batch to it.
Stick it in the fridge and contact the seller for a replacement, and step up the other pack if you need the cell count...

Cheers!

Correct, PurePitch, not smack packs. I had watched the video above before I opened them is the reason I opened/described it that way.