Pump full of gunk!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nutty_gnome

Reaction score
So I've been using a recirculating BIAB for a few years now with a march pump. My normal process is to flush the lines with warm, oxyclean-free water after each batch. I run the soapy water using the pump. For a long time, it was hassle free. Then, for my last 3 batches, I had trouble getting the pump to start. Not to prime, but actually start spinning the pump. I resolved it three times by flushing hot water from the sink through the pump. No biggie, I thought.

A few weeks after my last brew day, I had some free time, so I took the head off the pump and the pics tell why I had trouble starting it up. Apparently a simple soapy-water flush is not enough to fully clean the head of sticky wort. I have no idea what the cellophane looking stuff is, but it doesn't smell bad and is 'crunchy'.

Currently soaking all pieces in hot soapy water before scrubbing. My beers were fine because I run near-boiling wort through the pump at various times in the process (whirlpool, for example).... So infection hasn't been a problem for me.

But I think I'll be more careful how I clean the pump from now on.

View attachment 1469893975842.jpg

View attachment 1469893984034.jpg

View attachment 1469893993437.jpg

I was having trouble getting my small pumps to prime yesterday. I guess I should take them apart to make sure they are clean.

Have the same problem here, I just open it up every other batch, or maybe every third and clean it out

I don't think recirculating simple detergent is going to provide satisfactory results.
Try recirculating hot Powdered Brewery Wash (or the home made equivalent) instead...

Cheers!