propane brewing indoors?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mwsenoj

Reaction score
Anyone ever brew indoors with their propane burner? I have both a Blichman and a Northern Brewer Dark Star that I wanted to use in my laundry room with an exhaust fan that pulls 700 CFM to get rid of the heat and used air.

Initially, I thought, "Bad idea, dude," but then I have a gas oven and range that sometimes has all burners going. Also, the 700 CFM fan pulls a lot more than a standard kitchen or bathroom exhaust fan so dealing with the bad air shouldn't be a problem.

Hoping to do this since I live in the desert where temps are routinely 115*, and sometimes higher, for 3 months a year.

:mug:

I dont see a problem as long as you have adequate ventilation. Im no expert though so do at your own risk.

It's probably safe with an exhaust fan. I'd also have a CO detector nearby for piece of mind.

Yup. I usually have my gas generator running right next to it.

But seriously I agree that it probably isn't the best idea. I'll be braving the 105 degree heat index to brew tomorrow

Anyone ever brew indoors with their propane burner? I have both a Blichman and a Northern Brewer Dark Star that I wanted to use in my laundry room with an exhaust fan that pulls 700 CFM to get rid of the heat and used air.

Initially, I thought, "Bad idea, dude," but then I have a gas oven and range that sometimes has all burners going. Also, the 700 CFM fan pulls a lot more than a standard kitchen or bathroom exhaust fan so dealing with the bad air shouldn't be a problem.

Hoping to do this since I live in the desert where temps are routinely 115*, and sometimes higher, for 3 months a year.

:mug: