Possible Stuck Fermentation???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kenmcchord

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hey Everybody,
I've got a question about my current fermentation, specifically if it's possibly stuck or if my FG expectation is incorrect. Just a quick background, I started brewing around 2013 and I've had some luck brewing but this is the first time a fermentation seemed to stall for me. And to be clear, I'm feeling more and more like I really don't know what I'm doing short of follow recipes. So I'm seeking a little help troubleshooting.

I'm brewing the Gambler IIPA that I found in the recipes section. I plugged this into my Beersmith 3, then upscaled it to a 6 gal batch. Only hop I couldn't get was the Apollo, which I subbed out for Columbus instead but everything else is just as the recipe was posted. I started using Bru'N water for the water additions and I mashed with 2.5ml lactic which got me just short of 5.4pH. Here's the upgraded grain profile,
13 lbs 4oz Golden Promise
2 lbs 7 oz Flaked Wheat
I mashed in 20.30 quarts at 158° for a 75 min mash step of 147°, mash out 12 1/2 quarts of 205° for a 168° step. Fly sparged 2.5 gals at 168°. All went what appears to be well, hit my temps almost perfectly. The pre-boil gravity in Beersmith shows 1.052 but I only measured 1.040. I will say that my last few batches I came much closer to my expected pre-boil gravities. (I'm using a monster mill and that works quite well)

The recipe called for a 75 min boil and an addition of 1lb 8oz of sugar in the last 10 mins. My OG expectation was 1.076, I came in at 1.084; again I'm not sure why I would have been high given that I was low at the pre-boil.