Pineapple aromas in Mango wine

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crevie

Reaction score
I have a mango wine just out of primary that smells strongly of pineapple. A quick Google search and this appears to be part of the esterification process of amino acids degrading. I read that this complex process occurs from an interaction between acids and alcohol. This makes sense due to me adjusting the pH after pitching the yeast. I read it can also occur at higher fermentation temperatures which also makes sense as I was fermenting on a heat mat being in Scotland heading into the winter. I've also read that excessive aromas are considered a flaw. I'm also concerned about the creation of acetates. I'm a rookie wine maker and chemistry isn't a skill I have and I'm trying to figure out how to proceed. I've racked 4 gallons of this wine into 4 demijohn's. Should I persevere with it, is it safe and should it be drunk young please? Thanks

Attachments

• 20221021_133732.jpg
    20221021_133732.jpg
    2.6 MB · Views: 0
I imagine it is quite safe.
Whether to drink it young: Does it taste good right now?
I am not sure about the preserving...

Thanks. I'll give it three to six month's, sniff/taste it and if its OK stabilise and bottle. I'll probably drink it young.

Disclaimer- I’ve never made fruit wine (other than cider). The closest I’ve come is a few batches of mead and several batches of cider.

A couple thoughts: mango wine would probably have a generic tropical flavor in addition to the mango flavors and aromas, of course. Pineapple should complement that, I’d think.