Partial Mash for Newbie

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Incoerenza86

Reaction score
Hi,

I am a newbie (got 6 brews under my belt) and would like to beef up a kit with partial mash procedure. I got a question for you guys: my stockpot has a capacity of 6.3Litres/ 1.6 Gallons. would it be ok if i fill it with about .52 gallons?
the malts quantity i though would be approx 4.4.lbs.

Do i need to buy a bigger one or i am fine with the one I have?

thanks for your info!

That kettle is def a bit small. You mash with 1.25-1.5 quarts of water per pound of grains. Than sparge with about 1 quart per pound. for example,I mash 5-6lbs of grains in 2 gallons of water & sparge with 1.5 gallons. This gives 3.5 gallons boil volume in my 5 gallon (20quart) ss kettle.

Thanks both for replying. It wouldn`t work at all with the current capacity pot i got?

Take the grain and dump it in the kettle totally dry and see how much space you have left for water if your concerned.

Cheers
Jay

4.4 lbs of grain is the volume of about half a gallon (2 quarts). Even at 1 quart per pound (1:1) it's going to be very tight as the total volume will be 1.53 gallon, and the mash will be thick. And that does not leave you with any space to stir or move it around (to the oven) Do you have a 2nd pot to split the batch? With some dexterity and inventiveness you could make it work.

I would not mash any thicker than 1.25, ideally, and definitely not below 1:1.

Mash Calculators
It's in the 3rd section, "Can I Mash It?"

Well,the enzymes in the base grains need a proper amount of water to convert starches to sugars. Besides mash temp & time. Then you need room for increased volume from sparging them.

...Then you need room for increased volume from sparging them.